We’re All a Little Grey: What Christians Should Be Saying About 50 Shades


The cursor blinked at me – baiting me to spill my guts onto my electronic paper.

Blink. Blink. Blink.

For a week I had been thinking about writing what I was sure would be my most read post.
After all sex sells, right?

My plan? To join in on the bashing and criticism of the movie 50 Shades of Grey.
The words of disgust and protest were already burning in my heart.

I could have written paragraph after paragraph pleading, ranting, preaching:

        “Please make wise choices.”
        “Please realize that sex is not love.”
        “Please remember the words of Paul: not even a hint of sexual immorality…” (Eph 5:3)

But when I sat down to spew and the cursor blinked at me, instigating my fiery words,
I couldn’t bring myself to type.

I realized in that moment that if someone who doesn’t know Jesus took time to read my words
and expected to be criticized and judged for their choices,
the last thing I would want to do is prove them right.

And I realized that if someone who follows Jesus took time to read my words, I would much rather spend my time proclaiming the light instead of pointing them towards the darkness.

Will I still proclaim God’s word boldly? Absolutely.
Will I still stand up against sin and deception in our culture? Definitely.

But I also understand that arguments and protests don’t redeem people.
Jesus redeems people.
It wasn’t my well-intentioned friend who told me why I should stop watching R-rated movies or stop swearing that led me to Christ…it was the stranger who proclaimed how the love and grace of God had changed his life that drew me to Christ!

AS BELIEVERS
WE NEED TO FIGHT DARKNESS BY PRAISING THE LIGHT,
NOT BY CURSING THE SHADOWS. 


“But you are a chosen people, a royal priesthood, a holy nation, God’s special possession, that you may declare the praises of him who called you out of darkness into his wonderful light.” {1 Peter 2:9}


The truth is that we are all a little grey.

We are mushed and unsure of who we are.
We are scheming and impure in our hearts.
We are dirty and selfish.
Even on our best, brightest, and most pure days, there is a little grey in all of us.

But one thing I know for sure is this: God is never grey.
In His love there is never any shifting, or selfishness, or darkness.

God’s love is only one shade.

Pure.
Spotless
Unchanging.

On days where sin is my closest companion and my greyness is so obvious – I am so thankful for the pure love of God.

On days when the best I can do as a writer is sit and write mean words about a stupid movie – I am so grateful for the pure love of God.

On days when my love for others and for Jesus can be so grey and mixed up – I am made pure by my Father’s love for me.

He does not change like shifting shadows.


I declare that He has called me out of darkness,
saved me from the greyness of my sin,
redeemed me from the pit,
and brought me into His Marvelous Light!


Leave a Reply

