My Life’s Resolution

 


At midnight millions of people from Tokyo to London to Times Square will be united by these three weird words, “Auld Lang Syne.”

Be honest. You think they are weird, too.

I remember going to a New Year’s Eve party with family when I was little.
The ball dropped and confetti fell.
We blew our foil horns and I smiled big and cheesy. Magic was in the air.
Then, before I knew it our family and friends started to sing in a strange foreign tongue.
I was sure they had ruined 1998 before I even had a chance
to get a purple Furby or fall in love with N*Sync.

I just couldn’t understand what singing about old egg signs had to do with anything, let alone ringing in the New Year.
Were these eggs some kind of good luck charm?
Or was it a Groundhog’s day scenario?
See the old egg signs on New Year’s Eve and you’ll have a prosperous year?
But go all New Year’s Eve without seeing the signs and you can count on a rotten year to come?

As rough as our relationship began I have actually grown to admire this tune, even more so since I realized there is no talk of eggs.

Scottish poet Robert Burns is usually given credit for the popular song “Auld Lang Syne”, although he claimed to have only penned what he heard from an “old man’s singing.”

Those three simple words have a few different meanings but
generally break down into “Old” – “Long” – and “Since.”
When combined, the phrase loosely means “time gone by” or “old time’s sake.”
Each year millions of people greet the new year with these words as they stand with their loved ones and look back on the year past and make resolutions for the year to come.

Tomorrow, when this old tune plays in Times Square and comes through my television,
I won’t spend too much time reminiscing about the year gone by
as wonderful and full of surprises as it was.

This year, I will be singing a new song.

Kings Kaleidoscope released a song that has the same tune as “Auld Lang Syne.”
Only, I don’t think this one will ruin 2016.
In fact, I think it just might make it.


“Should nothing of our efforts stand
No legacy survive
Unless the Lord does raise the house
In vain its builders strive

To you who boast tomorrow’s gain
Tell me what is your life
A mist that vanishes at dawn
All glory be to Christ!

All glory be to Christ our king!
All glory be to Christ!
His rule and reign we’ll ever sing,
All glory be to Christ!”


This year, I may wish to be healthier, or skinnier, or more secure,
I may hope for safety for my family and blessings for my friends,
I may strive to be more kind or more patient,
I may want to be a better wife, friend, steward, and pastor,
But, I won’t be making a New Year’s Resolution.

By definition a resolution is an outward expression of an intention made. 
A resolution is the act of determining upon an action.
A resolution is having a firmness of purpose.

The words of this song define my intention and outline my purpose.

Instead of striving for a set of earthly principles based off
of the balance of feelings and scales,
I choose to look heavenward for treasures that cannot be shaken
and a hope that does not fail.

Instead of surface wishes and selfish changes,
I will be declaring that HE ALONE is my life’s resolution. 

Instead of singing of the old times past, however grand they may have been,
I will stand and shout from the rooftops the current and coming glory of my King.

This is the song in my heart for this year.
For every year.
For every moment.

May every breathe, every muscle, and every word be used for Him!

ALL GLORY BE TO CHRIST.


*Check out the remake of “Auld Lang Syne” by
Kings Kaleidoscope called “All Glory Be To Christ”*


Leave a Reply

